RSS

Book review: “Like Dandelion Dust” by Karen Kingsbury

18 Apr

This was one of the books that I picked up on our trip to the Border’s that was closing.  I recognized the authors name, Karen Kingsbury, and in my mind I thought she was the person that wrote “The Poisonwood Bible” (which I loved) but it turns out that was Barbara Kingsolver.  Anywho…

“Like Dandelion Dust” follows two families that inexplicably become intertwined in a story that no one could imagine happening to them.  Molly and Jack have the ideal life in a great town.  Jack has a great job, they have a huge house and so much love for each other.  The only thing missing is a child.

Wendy and Rip have the complete opposite life.  Rip is an alcoholic wife beater who is in and out of jail.  Wendy is the abused woman that always goes back to her abuser and has to work two backbreaking jobs while he is in jail to support herself.  When Rip is put in jail for five years, Wendy finds out shortly after he is locked up that she is pregnant.  Wendy gives the kid up for adoption…to Molly and Jack.  Rip doesn’t find out until he is released from jail upon which he decides that he wants custody of the son he never knew he had.

A judge rules in the case that the child should be returned to his biological parents.  The story then follows the life of both Molly and Jack and Wendy and Rip as both of their worlds are turned upside down.

“Like Dandelion Dust” is an inspirational tale of how different people react to the same situation.  The story is so well written and the characters so well-developed that I could not put it down.  I actually stayed up until 1 a.m. this morning finishing it because it just got to where I could not wait to find out what happened next.  And I’m not gonna lie…I was in tears at the end.

There were many points in this book where I felt inspired by the characters faith in God, faith in each other, and undying love.  I would definitely recommend this book to others.  This is the first book by Kingsbury that I have read and I know that it will not be the last.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Leave a comment